Appreciation

I want to take a minute to appreciate.

I was chatting to my sister earlier, telling her that I felt like I didn’t have much going for me. Immediately, she told me off for being stupid. Tough love, eh. She said that I am so much better off than the majority of the Earth’s population and I should remember that. I should remember that. So here I am, remembering it.

I have a family. They may be living 5,935 miles away from me, but I still have them. Viber exists, which means I can call anytime.

I am generally healthy, physically. Mentally, I’m working on it. I appreciate that I have the means to work on it. Not everyone has access to that.

I have support. I am in a committed relationship that has been my rock for the past three years. I am very grateful for that.

They’re the main three for me, but there are a bunch of other things I am grateful for. I am thankful for the opportunity to go to university and learn. I love my cosy room, where I am surrounded by all of my sentimental clutter. I appreciate that I can cook yummy meals, and then treat myself to sickly desserts after. I can read ! I love reading. I can listen to music. I can create music (guitar). I can work, and make money. Then I can travel with that money and experience different cultures. I have one of the most powerful passports in the world ! Apparently, I am a ‘strong, independent, mixed race woman’ – my sister’s words, not mine.

I am pretty lucky. She’s right.

It makes me kinda sad though, to think of all the people who are worse off. Those who don’t have these same opportunities. I don’t like thinking about it, but it makes me grateful. So I guess that’s okay..

Olive

(It’s not.)

Leave a Reply

